Historic Salisbury Foundation, Inc.
- Non-Profit Organization
Historic Salisbury Foundation has worked diligently to preserve and protect significant landmarks across Salisbury and Rowan County. Through our efforts, many important structures remain to tell the story of the past. Several of these buildings are owned and operated by Historic Salisbury Foundation:
1908 SALISBURY RAILWAY PASSENGER STATION: Built in 1908 from a design by Frank P. Milburn in the Spanish Mission style, the Salisbury Railroad Passenger Station served as one of the Piedmont's gateways to the world and was a mainline station between Washington, D.C. and Atlanta, GA. At least 44 passenger trains passed through daily in 1911. The station is open for tours by appointment and also available for rental. 215 Depot St, 636-0103.
HISTORIC SALISBURY FOUNDATION'S OTHER HISTORIC SITES: JOSEPHUS HALL HOUSE This impressive house museum was once home to Dr. Josephus Hall, chief surgeon of the Salisbury Confederate Prison during the Civil War. Built in 1820 with additions in 1859 and 1900, it is open for tours guided by docents in period attire. 226 S. Jackson St., Salisbury 704-636-0103
GRIMES MILL: This Second Empire style Victorian roller mill, built in 1896, contains five floors of early mill machinery. This unique property was purchased by the Foundation in late 1982.
The mill, site of the Foundation sponsored Rowan's Largest Indoor Yard Sale and the Bargains, BBQ and Beer party held each May and October, is the only roller mill museum in the state of North Carolina. Tours by appointment only. 600 North Church St., 704-636-0103